Poker for Chickens

The operant conditioning exercise I did was so popular with my girls that I’ve decided to teach them to play the chicken version of poker.  I call it peck-her.  The object of the game is for the hen to peck the queen of hearts out of a random assortment of playing cards.  Katy Pecky has been successful from the very first card.  I am only fast enough to rearrange five cards at a time, so that’s our limit until I have an assistant.  Poor Mrs. Pickles looks at me as if to say, “But that’s not the game you taught me,” so we stick to that one.  I also have to find a game everyone can play because peck-her doesn’t work well with more than one hen playing.

Leave a Reply

